Our new CA...

kidnurse

I have dealt with some finger chewers before, but wow, this time I was actively bleeding! I :love: 'd our new CA....until I got it out to the car to try to install it. Wow-wee! Not easy, but I am sure it will get easier in time. I did not realize all the nice features this car seat has....especially for a Dorel. :whistle:

Are there any tricks I should know to make installing it easier and quicker? Also, can it touch the seat in front of it?

Oh, and something else that occured to me as I was wrestling with this thing, when we say 45 degree, 35 degree, angle, is that with or without the child sitting in it? This thing is pretty upright, but I think it will come down a bit once DS is sitting in it.

I still like it an awful lot, and my hands will heal in time.

Also, I started getting bumps all over my fingers about the same time I started playing with my car seats a lot to figure out my 3 across, anyone think the two are related, or am I the only one with bumpy fingers?

ADS

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member
The angle shouldn't really change much if at all with a child in it. If it does you should probably put a pool noodle or rolled towel under it for firmer support and try to get a tighter install if necessary.

The easiest way is to pull one side of the cover back when installing the CA rear-facing, to expose the rear-facing belt path and make tightening easier. I really don't find it hard at all once I've done that (though a bit tough to pop the cover back on afterward!)

It can touch the seat in front if your vehicle allows. What vehicle do you have it in?

kidnurse

I have an 08 Dodge Caliber, it is behind the driver's seat, so touching should be fine, right?

It took me a bit to figure out that I should remove one side of the cover to tighten the latch well. I did not manage to get the seat cover back on exactly right, although it is almost back on.

Thanks KQ

NannyMom