Exchanging UAS straps

Mingie

CPST Instructor
No I am not doing this.;) But a poster on another forum has lost/misplaced hers and a few posters are saying they do indeed do this and don't understand why. I am not very good at explaining this and need help.

My response was that another UAS is not tested for that seat and might fail. I suggested to the OP that she could use the seat belt and now another poster has said yes the UAS are universal and that my explaination is "flawed" as "Not every seat belt is tested with every car seat." Are seat belts not "universally" the same? I certainly notice a difference in the UAS straps of my different seats but not so much from car to car. Just not sure of all my facts to post back. Sigh.

ADS

snowbird25ca

Moderator - CPST Instructor
Many manufacturers will sell replacement UAS straps, and some manufacturers shipped out UAS straps to allow owners to add a UAS strap to seats that were made before UAS came in to effect.

The technical answer is that you shouldn't be pulling one UAS strap from another seat and using it with a different one, and that a seat missing the UAS strap is a seat missing parts and shouldn't be used if it's coming from another person. However, if the person is the original owner and purposefully removed the UAS (it's a common thing for people to do with the 3in1 seats because the re-threading of it for rf'ing installs was a pain and pigtail was barely long enough on some of the older seats seats,) then it wouldn't be horrible to use a UAS strap from the same manufacturer.