anone know? PA carseat law

pj2rc

I thought PA law was RF to 1 AND 20 lbs; 5 pt harness to 4 AND 40 lbs; booster to 8 AND 80 lbs. I just found is page
http://www.cruisinwithkids.com/PennsylvaniaChildandInfantCarSeatSafetyInformation.html
and it says "Pennsylvania state law requires children under the age of 4 to ride in a federally approved car seat or booster that is appropriate for the child's age, height and weight. Children ages 4 - 8 must use a booster seat if they are no longer riding in a car seat. Children ages 8 - 18 must use a seatbelt whenever they are in a vehicle regardless of where they are seated.

anyone know what is correct?

ADS

Qarin

http://www.pabulletin.com/secure/data/vol33/33-13/564.html

I'm not a lawyer, but I read that to say that to age 4, a child must be harnessed, and from 4 through 7 must be in a booster, except that if a child ages 4-7 is under 40lbs that child may use a harnessed seat... except that the definitions of "child booster seat" and "child passenger restraint system" both reference the same standard, which would suggest that both really mean both booster and harnessed seats.

In any case, it's very clearly 8-or-80-or-4'9", 4-regardless-of-weight (except for the definition confusion i have), and there is no rear-facing requirement.

carseatcoach

Carseat Crankypants
Child booster seat—A belt positioning seat designed and manufactured to meet Federal motor vehicle safety standards in 49 CFR 571.213 (relating to child restraint systems) to position a child to properly sit in a Federally- approved safety seat belt system.

Child passenger restraint system—

(i) A device or system to enhance the safety of children in motor vehicles which is designed and manufactured for use in motor vehicles equipped with a safety seat belt system and which meets the Federal motor vehicle safety standards in 49 CFR 571.213.

(ii) The term includes a child booster seat.

Department—The Department of Transportation of the Commonwealth.