OI / Brittle Bone Disease

jubgulia

I was looking up old posts about OI and I'm sure the recommendations have changed since then, so I thought I would start a new thread rather than dragging out an old one.

DS3 has Type IV mild/moderate OI. He's 2.5 months old right now and riding in a Maxi Cosi Cabrio Fix. We love that seat for him, but I know it's not going to last forever. Some people with OI end up being very small, but DS3 is growing very well and his newest doctor says he is looking great and she expects him to be close to full height! :D

I am starting to research (because I am a compulsive researcher) next step carseats and things and wanted to get some expert opinions on the matter. According to his doctor, his problem areas are most likely going to be his femurs (both are quite bowed and one has fractured already) and spinal compression issues.

I'm sure rearfacing is the way to go, but I'm wonding how long as that will affect what seat is going to be best for him. Would RF to booster be better than the progression of RF to FF to booster? What types of seats are going to be most compatible with femur bowing (sharpest angle at the top of the femur), future casts/splints, easy in/out, and least likely to cause/aggravate spinal compression?

We drive an 8-passenger 2006 Toyota Sienna.

ADS

carseatcoach

Carseat Crankypants
Yes, I think RF to booster would be ideal, and (this isn't something you'll see me write very often at all!) I think you should consider importing a 55# RFing Swedish seat.

Dillipop

I agree with the importing of a Swedish seat. Especially since there are some models that are made to set away from the back seat, offering considerably more leg room than our seats.

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member
It might be that he outgrows a Swedish seat (by leg room if nothing else, even though they have more than American seats) before ready for a booster.