Buying a secondary seat

lukensophie

Senior Community Member
Being a tech, I love all kinds of car seats and love knowing about all kinds of car seats. This also means I have a hard time picking out my own seats. I had YDS's seat all picked out while pregnant, only to find out that it wouldn't be available in time for his birth. Therefore, I ended up with a MyRide.

I'm the kind of girl who buys one seat, and if I love it, I stick with it. I don't buy and sell and trade seats over and over. I have three kids and five seats, four of them are boosters.

That being said, DH mentioned yesterday that he would like to have a back-up seat for YDS in his car. Usually, if we're going somewhere as a family, it's in my car. If we're heading in different directions, whoever has the baby takes my car.

So, if you were in my position, and in the market for a second seat, what would you get? DS is 11 months old, 23 pounds, 28.5 inches long, with a 12.5 inch torso. He's been hanging out at about the same weight for a couple of months.

I thought about getting a second MyRide, but I think I might like to try something different. I'd also like to keep it under $200. I know there's a plethora of new seats coming out, so I don't know whether to wait and see what the ones will be like (esp. the new Evenflos).

I'm not sure what DS's growth curve may look like. My older two kiddos were slightly shorter, but a good bit heavier, and didn't slow down on the growth until they hit two.

Ideas?

ADS

babyherder

What if you move the myride to your DH's car and get a seat you want for your car. Sounds like you never really got the seat you wanted and now you have time to shop around and find one you really like.

lukensophie

Senior Community Member