Question SafeGuard used to make child seats?

y_p_w

Again - I'm new to all this, but I searched the archive for "SafeGuard" and found a whole lot of hits for car seats that seemed to cost a small fortune and don't seem to be on the market any more.

I was under the impression that a big part of their business was car seat parts like harness systems and LATCH connectors. I guess they make snap hooks, but their highest profile components seem to be those push-button release LATCH connectors, with the name molded on the side. I've seen those identical LATCH connectors on a bunch of different products, including from Dorel, Chicco, and Combi.

This sort of makes me wonder why this is such a specialized industry that there aren't a whole lot of players. I would think that seatbelt makers like TRW or Takata might have the technical and manufacturing skills to do this. IMMI (the parent company of SafeGuard) seems to be intent on being a niche player with seatbelts for specialized uses, like commercial vehicles and buses, as well as ambulance restraints.

ADS

Jennifer mom to my 7

Yes, safeguard made a great seat, called the safeguard child seat. It practically installed itself, forward facing only 20? or 22 pounds to 60 pounds.

They also made the safeguard go, which dorel bought the rights? or whatever to, and is now being marketed as the safety first go hybrid booster. http://www.safety1st.com/usa/eng/Pr...ails/2384-22256AHE-Go-Hybrid-Booster-Car-Seat

I think they just left the regular child restraint market to continue doing their bus restraints and parts. There was a rumor that someone also bought the rights? or whatever to the child seat, but we haven't seen it yet.

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member