Easier to convince strangers to Extend Rear Face versus Family & Friends

StillThankful

Frustrating to me: Why does it seem easier to convince strangers to keep their child RF than it does family and friends? Or is it just me? All my cousins and close friends FF their child after 12 months. Regardless of what I say and how much I put on my FB page--videos and links with stats stating rear facing is better. I'm totally confused:confused:. I'm just not sure what makes someone ignore safety results that potentially could involve his/her child. Is it something I'm missing? Even my mother dislikes that I RF DD1. Any advice?

Maybe I'm not effectively advocating. I'm now studying the importance of rear facing facts just so that I can be "ready" for a conversation concerning the subject with someone who is critical of it.

I guess I can plant the seed of its importance but I can't make it grow--they'll have to do that.

I was just like them at one point--eagerly waiting to turn my child around at 12 months--in fact I counted down the days. Then I came upon this forum and quickly learned the importance of RFing--I watched the videos and read the facts--it turned my excitement of FFing into dreading the day it has to happen.

I've researched Virginia law and it's a skeleton at best: it just mentions that children have to be restrained until their 8th birthday. In addition, it states that rear facing child restraints must be placed in the back seat (unless a vehicle has no back seat and the passenger seat has no side air bag or it has been deactivated). There is a $50 civil penalty fine imposed for failure to transport a child in a child restraint. I DO like this: the fines collected go into a special fund to purchase safety seats for low-income families.

Code of Virginia Article 13--Section 46.2.

There is no mention about merchants selling used, expired car seats or their liability to conform to a specific law.