LATCH

ChckLiz

So I got to use LATCH *and tether* for the first time today! My car doesn't have either one but I was riding with my mom in my brother's car and it does. I put Jonah's seat FF and got a GREAT install. Now.. I may be completely stupid or it's just because I've never used it before.. but when you're uninstalling the LATCH.. you have to losen the strap before you can unlock it.. right? It took me forever to get his seat out of the car! I kept pushing on the red button and nothing would happen.. finally I got it to losen a little and was able to unlock it. Is that what it's suposed to do? Like I said.. first time I've gotten to use it.

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Sometimes you need to give it slack.

Just know that a lot of cars don't allow for center LATCH use.

Wendy

ChckLiz

My brother's doesn't. It's a Toyota Corrola and it has little pics at the bottom of the outboard seats that shows where the latch is. I guess you can install a ff seat with tether in the middle though as it has that there too.

ChckLiz

Yes.. I know, bad ERF mommy. I wanted to try out the tether as I don't have them.. wanted to see how to use it for future use, and my brother's car is the only one that has them. Also I was handing him his lunch while on the way to the park, it's the only way I can reach him.

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Yes.. I know, bad ERF mommy. I wanted to try out the tether as I don't have them.. wanted to see how to use it for future use, and my brother's car is the only one that has them. Also I was handing him his lunch while on the way to the park, it's the only way I can reach him.

What I did while Piper was rear facing was have her put her hands straight up. I could pass her things right over her head. If I needed to get her attention I tapped the top of her head.

Wendy

Maedze