Question Very small 6 year old

Good afternoon, this is my first time posting here as I was advised by a friend of mine to visit this site. We are in the process of adopting a 6 year old girl. This girl is considerably under-weight at only right at 30-33 lbs at the most. With this being our first child, can anyone recommend a safe seat for an under-weight child? As of right now, I do not know her exact size and measurements but I do know that she is about the size of an average 3 year old. When we visited the foster parents, I did notice that there was a booster seat in the living room which I thought (and correct me if I am wrong) somewhat unsafe for such a small child. I am in the process of checking the state laws here in Michigan but I thought I would ask here and see what you all would recommend. I fell in love with her the moment I saw her as she was physically and mentally abused by her parents and because of that, she has not caught up to a 6 year old maturity level and is probably right at 3 or 4 years old mentally. Also, if anyone here has ever adopted an abused child, I would love any suggestions or comments on what I have to look forward to. Thank you everyone for your time.

Bonnie

ADS

disbugsmomma

Hi and welcome! At that size, age and maturity level, I would probably get a Graco Nautilus or the new Evenflo Maestro. I would keep her in a harness until she grows and gains weight and you know she will sit properly in a booster. Kudos to you for giving her a wonderful new home and wanting to keep her as safe as possible. :thumbsup:

Where in MI are you? There are several people on this board who could help you out in person if need be.

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Hi Bonnie,