Need advice and how much I can offer as a non-tech.

mykidsmylife

I met with a lady today who wants to get a car seat program off and running.
She wants info from me such as what seat to replace the car seats with they are lending out, ideas for the provost marshal such as how and when to hold checks etc.. and ideas such as where and what car seat info should be passed out (new mom meetings etc..)....

She already told me that they are funding the class in Sept and that I WILL get certified and they will pay for it. Then I will come on as a volunteer and install seats when people need to borrow them and teach at the new parent classes. She also said this program CANNOT get started until people are trained so the ideas I take to her now will not go into effect until I am a tech.

So I saw the car seat tech and she is upset. She says the lady shouldn't even ask me my advice on any of this since I am not a tech.

So my question is, if I will be certified when all this takes place, is it really a big deal for me to be offering suggestions now? Is it okay for me to give her a list of seats to purchase?

Thanks

ADS

Maedze

I think if you were any other person, the CPST would be right. Face it, the average technician out there doesn't have the knowledge base that you or the average advocate at c-s.org does.

So go on and give your recommendations :thumbsup:

However, I'm very suspicious of the idea of a car seat program LENDING seats. I wouldn't be involved in that, at all, unless we're talking about special needs seats. Look at Craigslist. People do unspeakable, terrible things to the car seats in their possession :ROTFLMAO:

CTPDMom

Ambassador - CPS Technician
If the group wants your input and you have the knowledge share it. Regardless of what the CPST thinks. (However, try not to make an enemy out of the CPST if you'll need to work with her in the future!) :twocents:

mykidsmylife

The CPST will train me so I don't want to step on her toes too much.