Cloth diapers/Potty training

Cindy&Connor

My ds will be 3 next month and is refusing to even try to potty train. I've never done this before so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Every once in awhile I ask him if he wants to wear underwear and he immediately dissolves into tears telling me he just wants to wear a diaper. He does sometimes use the potty without me asking so I know he can and he also tells me when he's going sometimes. I have tried not to pressure him but I think he may still feel pressured or maybe he really just doesn't want to. So onto my question. Would cloth diapers help? Would it even be worth it at this point? Honestly buying and changing diapers doesn't really bother me. I think what bothers me is I know he can do it so why won't he? Thanks for reading.

ADS

MagnificentMama

Senior Community Member
My DD was cloth diapered and PTed literally within a day. I NEVER EVER pushed it nor was it ever an issue with us. We went out to buy cute panties one day (the trip wasn't for it, but I was just showing her "big girl panties" because they were on sale. Aaannnd I like bargains) Ummm... they sat in a drawer for 6 months because she thought they were cute, but didn't really give a poo :eek:

Honestly, she just woke up one day and decided today was the day she was going to pee on the potty. Sposies or Cloth... didn't matter whatsoever. Of course i'd mention she could pee on the potty or try whenever she wants, but she said "okay mama" and went back to doing whatever she was doing. Like you're saying- i KNOW she could pee on the potty, she did off and on for a few months, but nothing ever consistant. I just knew deep down that when she was ready, she'll let me know. And she did!