SUV Cargo Safety

brightredmtn

So I am now an SUV driver :eek:. My car came with this shelf in the cargo area which makes me nervous as a giant projectile. It folds in half and while it wouldn't easily travel to the passenger area, I tried to mimic what could happen in a roll over and it certainly can get there.

So I need a barrier. Honda doesn't make anything. No pressure mounted one because those just seem like they could add to the projectiles.

I found this and really like it since it attaches to the rear head restraints.

I'd love a net but there's nothing to attach to on the ceiling.

I'd love any thoughts.

ADS

brightredmtn

Why not this?
http://www.keenanhondaparts.com/servlet/the-343/2007-dsh-2010-HONDA-CRV-CARGO/Detail

It looks like what I have in my Lexus SUV. It hooks in and will adjust for the split in the seats. I would not recommend the one you linked to. My sister had one and it would not stay in securely.

Here is another pic of it I found on another website.

http://www.conquestauto.com/servlet/the-56339/2007-dsh-2010-Honda-CR-V/Detail

I don't think that the shade cover thing would stay put in the event of a roll over crash, especially with the wooden shelf that's in the cargo area.

Thank you for the heads up about the Orvis barrier. Your sister had that exact one?

AlishaNC82

My cover actually locks into the car and won't move. You have to slide to levers to unlock and remove it. The cover slides out of the main bar to cover the cargo area and then locks into a set of holders near the hatch. It may be worth checking with the Honda dealership to see if one of the floor models has it so you would get a better feel for it.

I'm not sure if that is the same model, but it looks very similar. She couldn't get the top part to stay still because it is in contact with the fabric and not glass or metal so it doesn't have much traction.

brightredmtn