How would you handle this?

amy919

Or maybe my 4 year old already did...

I am by no means a carseat expert. I have learned a ton from this board and you are all to blame for turning me into a Britax and general car safety fanatic!

Yesterday I picked up my girls from school (I have a 1 yr old and 4 yr old). A classmate of Kaylie's (my 4 yr old) and her mom were walking out with us. I don't them well, just to say hello. They were parked next to us and as I was strapping Kaylie in, I noticed that there was no carseat in their car. Kaylie, who is now as fanatical that I am, noticed it, too and asked Trinity where her carseat was. Her mom said that she forgot and left her booster in their other car. She proceeded to pull out a PHONE BOOK and have her sit on that and buckled her in. I was speechless. Kaylie asked me if that was OK and I told her NO WAY! Kaylie told her that she wasn't big enough for a seatbelt and that she should have a carseat with a "race car" seatbelt like her (my husband tells her how cool it is to wear a seatbelt like race car drivers).

This little girl is not much bigger than Kaylie, who is almost 32 pounds and 40 inches. She outweighs Kaylie by maybe 5 pounds and is about an inch taller, so she could absolutely still be in a 5 point harness.

This morning we got to school at the same time and as soon as Kaylie saw her, she asked her mom if she remembered her carseat today. her mom just laughed and said yes. I couldn't help myself. When I left, I had to walk past her car and she's got this backless booster seat thing that I have never seen before (but I've never paid attention to backless boosters). It looked like a low step stool to me.