Recaro YS vs. Radian vs. upcoming Recaro convertible

jessadg

I'm still waiting to be approved, so if someone replies to my other post first, I'm sorry. :) Also, while I'm a librarian, I was a science major, so I'm all about the numbers. Apologies in advance if I'm overanalyzing this or just providing too much info, but I just have this feeling that I'll get a seat and then find the PERFECT one afterwards.

I'm looking for a new car seat for my daughter. She's close to 4.5, about 39 1/4" tall, 33 pounds, torso length 14".

My car is a Ford Focus Wagon, no head rests in the back. My husband's car is a Nissan Sentra with sort-of headrests ("extensions of the cushion", he says) but no upper tether. His car will undoubtedly need to be replaced at some point in the next several years.

In my car, she's in a Graco ComfortSport and has maybe half an inch or so until her shoulders are at the top level strap height. In my husband's car, she's in an Alpha Omega (HATE the puzzle locks), and has enough room, but if she's not going to be able to get to 40 pounds in it (likely), we're going to have to replace it eventually, too. She is and almost definitely will always be an only kid, so there will be no handing down of car seats.

If she stays on her current growth curve, she will be (approximately)

at age 6, 40 pounds and 43.5 inches
at age 8, 50 pounds and 48.5 inches
at age 10y 4mo, 65 pounds and 53 inches
at age 11y 10mo, 78 pounds and 57 inches

Of course, I want to keep her in a 5-point until 40 pounds, possibly longer, but height is more of a concern than weight. I think the Recaro YS might be the best deal for us financially--plus, those wings!--but I worry that she'd outgrow the straps height-wise before she reaches 40 pounds. I'd love to hear torso lengths of kids in the YS.

ADS

joolsplus3

Admin - CPS Technician
I know of one smallish kid (like yours, I think) who fit in the Young Sport harness till he was 7, and it does make a pretty great booster :)