People want to pay me-accept or reject?

L

LuciaBella

I've done numerous checks for people and they want to pay me at the end. I don't feel very comfortable because this is my service to the community and I tell them they can donate to safe kids.

One of the families is planning for their friends to come over and I check the seats which I'm excited about! But they want to pay me!!
Should I just suck it up and take the money or insist on no?

ADS

carseatcoach

Carseat Crankypants
In many states (I am not a lawyer, states are all different, blah blah blah), we are covered under Good Samaritan laws as long as we are acting within the scope of our certification, we follow standard practices, and we do not accept payment for services (because by accepting payment, we are no longer "good Samaritans"). I would not consider taking payment unless I had adequate liability insurance.

L

LuciaBella

OK wow I've never heard of the Good Samaritan law, but I'm in Washington state. I haven't accepted any money unless it was combined with babysitting. Good to know, I will tell people.

Mommy0608

Yep, accepting money is a liability concern.

I've had a few people offer to pay me as well, and I direct them to make a donation to the local Safe Kids group instead.

carseatcoach

Carseat Crankypants
Me too. (Although a mom once came back and brought me a hot coffee and muffin on a very cold day. I gladly accepted that!)

L

LuciaBella

One parent wanted to give me a gift certificate...Christmas is right around the corner....but I said no thanks

dhardawa

Regardless of the good samaritan stuff (which is a GREAT reason to not accept money), I have a hard time taking money for simply sharing knowledge. I got my certification to help people and to keep babies safe, not to make money. Knowing a child came to me unsafe and is leaving safe and the feeling that gives me is worth way more than a few bucks. Taking money would cheapen that feeling for me.

carseatcoach

Carseat Crankypants