Vent UGGG got into it with a Dad at BRU....

emandbri

I went to babies r us today and couldn't help but walk down the car seat aisle. There was a dad there talking to a BRU employee with a tiny child sitting in a graco turbo. I was going to let the guy do his job but when the dad put two turbos in his cart I had to speak up.

I asked if he was buying the seat for that child and he said yes. I told him that Missouri law says kids need to stay in a harness until 4 and that his son needed to be in a harness instead. He asked where it says that on the box. I told him that the box says that kids can use it at 3 but kids really need to be in a harness longer then that and that Missouri law is stricter then other states in that regard. I told him I was a car seat tech.

He then asked what happened before kids were in car seats, I told him kids were killed in crashes.

I then pointed out that the box also says that kids can't use it until 30 lbs, I could tell he wasn't 30 lbs. The BRU employee then asks how much the child weighs, the dad says 26 lbs and says he is almost 3 :eek: The employee tells him he needs to be in a harness and points to the sign above the seats that says booster seats 40 to 80 lbs (I think it said 80).

I asked the dad what he was in now since chances are he would fit fine and he told it was none of my business. I told him I was just trying to help and he says that he didn't ask for my help. He says he has 4 kids and they are all perfectly safe and asked me to leave.

I am quite upset that the employee didn't ask the child's age, or weight, until I was there trying to help the dad. The kid was seriously tiny and he obviously wasn't 4 or 40 lbs.

I'm going to write a letter to the manager at BRU and tell him/her that the employees really need some training!

ADS

2BunniesMommy

How sad for that 2 year old.

I am actually impressed that the BRU employee agreed with you, even if it did take you speaking up first.

KaysKidz

Senior Community Member