2 car seats on the plane?

purplekyk

Hi ~ I'm new to this whole forum thing, but I've been enjoying reading everyone's posts. I decided to take the plunge and ask a question that I've been desperately researching for weeks now. I'm really stressed out about what to do with our car seats on the airplane. :eek:

My family is flying to New Zealand for Christmas. We have two legs of the trip ahead of us: one to LAX and another to NZ. We have two children, a 10-month old (at time of trip) and a 3 1/2 year old. We have a Britax BV and Graco Nautilus respectively for them, which they both love. We only purchased a seat for our 3-yr-old but not for our 10-month old. What would you recommend in terms of car seats? Should I take both? Or just rent a CARES harness for our 3-yr-old?

We will need the car seats in NZ, so it's just a matter of checking them in, gate-checking them, or lugging one of them along.

Please please - any advice would be greatly appreciated!! thanks!!

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
I would buy the 10 month old a seat, first. That's a LONG trip to hold a mobile baby who doesn't understand that they can't get down and play. Not to mention a LONG trip without any use of your lap or tray, or comfort while you sleep.

Then I would take both seats on board. Install the 10 month old rear facing and the 3.5 year old forward (obviously). I'd put the 10 month old by the window and either the 3.5 year old next to you if it's just the three of you and you're all together, or put the 3.5 year old in the window in front of the 10 month old (no complaints about lack of recline on such a long flight).