least unsafe??

featherhead

4.5 year old 36 lbs

-backless booster on side facing jump seat
-Safety 1st Apex on side facing jump seat
-HB Turbo booster on side facing jump seat
-no carseat, just him sitting on jump seat

I'm pretty sure the jump seat only has a lap belt. Police told FIL it was ok to put 4.5 year old on the jump seat. He is stubborn and won't change his mind, so which is the least unsafe way?

ADS

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member
They are all incredibly unsafe. There is no "least safe" or "most safe" here. They are all unsafe (and at least one of them is probably impossible) and should not be done. Period. If you choose to let him transport your child in that seat you are choosing to let your child be unsafe in the car, there is no way to make it safer.

sirrahn

They're all unsafe, but with absolutely no other choice I'd have to go with no car seat since none are approved to be used there.

When I was a tech, I had a family come in in a Ford Ranger with the side facing jumpseats. They had 2 kids, an infant and a little boy who was 4. The only thing we could do was put the baby up front (no airbag) in a new seat (she came in in an infant seat w/aftermarket cover and *no* harness just sitting on the jumpseat:eek:)and mom and DS in the back in the lapbelts. Not safe at all, but at least the baby was safer, and it was the only vehicle they had.:(

featherhead

It's not my child, it's my nephew. And he is basically legal guardian. Kid's mom wouldn't care. FIL is going to do it no matter what, and I'm trying to make the best of the situation. Believe me, I'm planning on writing a letter to the police department, letting them know what I think of them telling my FIL it's ok!

carseatcoach

Carseat Crankypants
I agree that they are all unsafe, but those seats are so tiny that a 4.5yo would probably fit without a carseat/booster and that's what I'd do.

kjohnston