S/O preemie fit in seat

gecikuh

Senior Community Member
I'm an OB nurse but haven't worked much since dd was born. Well I actually worked one night last week and left completely livid at the stupidity of other nurses. Every baby born before 36 weeks gets a car seat test, as do those who have a physician order for it. We had a near term babe who was IUGR and weighed 4-8. He was teeny. I got report stating that he passed his carseat test the previous night. I'm less than thrilled listening to the rest of report because I'm dying to go see what the parents brought in for him (they were quite young and from presumably lower class families)

It's a horribly nasty looking snugride, which was shockingly manufactered in '07. But of course, starts at 5 pounds. I'm looking at it thinking there is NO WAY his shoulders are at or above the bottom slots. Therefore the carseat test shouldn't have even been done, as proper fit is a part of it. Well, the long time nursery nurse was working that night too and she proceeds to tell me that she did it and he did fine.
I brought baby in, he wasn't even close to fitting properly. Other nurse refused to admit that he wasn't even close to the bottom slots.

There is one other tech who works there and she works days. I was so hoping she worked the next day (baby was supposed to go home). Sadly she did not. So I gave report staying they needed to figure it out, but he could not go home in that seat. ....And I was happy not to be working again in the near future because I don't even want to know how that turned out.
:mad:

ADS

cookie123

Jess, I work in a level II nursery and most kids go home in Snugrides. Rarely do they fit. It's disheartening. Apparently proper fit isn't part of the criteria for passing the car seat eval. Well, I have seen a couple times a new seat was recommended for a pretty small baby in a 3 point Discovery, but that's about it.