My Ride vs Marathon

seamonkeys

Ok, I'm not good at searching. Is the shell height of the MR listed someplace? I got DS2 to sit in a MR today and can't say for sure, but it didn't seem like he had much more room above his head than he does in the MA. Though it's hard to say since I couldn't totally take out the infant insert! :rolleyes:

Or I'd love to see comparison pictures of a kid RFing in the MR and MA.

ADS

TheNimpsGirl

I put DS (9 months, 18lbs, 27.75" long, 11.5" torso, seated height of 18") in both the other day. He was having a fit so no pictures in both (just the MA and the CA) but I did a quick measurement and in the MR he had, assuming I measured correctly, 6.5" above his head to the top of the shell and 8" above his head in the MA to the top of the shell. That was with him being on both of the bottom slots and the infant padding in the MR, oh and he wears cloth.

jujumum

They measure (with a ruler) within 1/2" of eachother. I think that the MA measured slightly more, but the MR seems to have a tad bit more space since it curves at the lower spine so the child fits differently. Here is dd around 41.5" tall and 34lbs and 3.5 yrs old. She was looking up in the DC and looking straight in the MR, so it is a little hard to compare.

DD in DC/MA ff:
seats015.jpg

DD in MR rf:
picture.php

In my estimation, she would out grow the DC/MA by height and weight nearly exactly turning 4 yrs old. At the same time, or perhaps 6 months later, she would outgrow the MR by height. By 4 she'd also outgrow the TF rf by weight.

As a side note, the MA/DC has less leg room, but it has more room for the child to cross their legs. The MR has a deeper seat, but less room for criss cross apple sauce. The seating area of the MR is rectangular with high sides, whereas the MA/DC is more of a V, and is wider and lower at the sides where the child seat hits the seatback.