whats the difference

U

Unregistered

I am buying my neice a new car seat since her current one is a joke (dosen't fit properly in the car and is going on 6 yrs old). She is a very tiny 2 year old. She will be 3 in Dec. . Anyways I am researching the Britax since I already have a marathon for my son. What is the difference between the wizzard and marathon. I noticed on the web site they say that the wizzard has true side impact so dose that mean the marathon dosen't. If so, is the wizzard safer then the marathon for the outboard position my neice will be in. Thanks for any help.

ADS
U

Unregistered

side impact protection

I'm not an expert but saw no answers to your questions and thought I'd put in what I do know. the Wizard has often been recommended for people who will have their kids outboard. It has 'wings' that protect the head on each side. It is or has been, discontinued and can be bought for less than it had been going for. Sometimes now under $200. That in my opinion is a good deal.
I bought a Wiz for my daughter for our Camry. She sits outboard and though she's not had an occasion to ride in that car since I bought it (!!) I feel much better about that seat there than say, her RA.
The Wizard is also easier to adjust the harness height, which could make it easier for her parents to use properly.
Your niece is lucky to have you!!
C.

W

whtmstng95

boulevard replaces the wizard

The replacement for the wizard is the boulevard. available at babies r us.
i tried the boulevard in my vehicle and found that in a rear facing position, you have to bend the child around the wings because your space in the doorway is reduced in that position. that could be a pain. also, i think that children like looking out the window and if they are always leaning forward to look around the wings it defeats any safety purpose they were designed for.
i bought the marathon and couldn't be happier.

Victorious4

Senior Community Member