New Carseat for 1yr old? Still needs to be rear facing?

reube07

I am new to the whole carseat world so please bare with me. My baby will be 1 in June and dh and I were going to get him the graco nautilus for his bday because we had both been told and had read online at lots of different places that when babies turn a year you put them front facing. My sister put her daughter front facing at about 9 months because she said she outgrew her infant carseat. I wouldn't do that but I did think it was ok at a year. So I posted on ds asking how people liked the graco nautilus and everyone said I should leave him rear facing at a year and get a convertable carseat? Someone recomended this site for info so here I am in need of info. We currently have him in an eddie bauer infant carseat that sets into a base. He currently weighs 20 lbs so I know he will be at least that by the time he is 1. What is the difference between an infant carseat and a convertable carseat? What is a good carseat to be getting him? My parent's said they would get him one for his bday but it needs to be under $200. Can I get a good one for that? I would really like it to last through him and the next little one as well. Help me please mama's! I am soooo lost here! Thanks!

ADS

An Aurora

Senior Community Member
First, welcome to the site! You will learn alot ;)

Next, your DS is very near the weight limit of his current seat. You need to start researching convertible seats ASAP. I'm sure that by the time I finish typing out this post there will be several people linking you to youtube clips, which I definitely suggest you watch. Google "extended rear facing" for fun.