mazda3 question

N

newdad2007

Hi,

I was interested in getting a mazda3. I am a new driver and a new dad and I was just wondering if anyone on here has this car and if there is enough room for a carseat in the middle seat in the back.

Thanks!

ADS

CDNTech

Senior Community Member
We have the Speed3 and there is definitely enough room for a carseat back there. :)

Age/Weight/Height of child and budget would be great info if you'd like help choosing the best seat for your child and vehicle.

N

newdad2007

We already own the graco infant car seat. Our daughter is 2 months old, about 11 lbs and 2 ft tall. I'm planning to lease for 2-3 years and I know I will need to get a new car seat in a few months. I'm not overly restricted budget-wise.

southpawboston

i'm the regular "dad" with a 3 here. we had a snugride, and it was tight in back. we never tried a center install since we had two carseats back there, but i've heard center installs can be tricky with the hump back there in the middle of the rear seat.

how tall are you? i'm 6'1", and having the snugride behind the driver's seat was sort of a pain. i had to have the seat about four positions forward of where i would ideally have it for my own comfort. my wife who is 5'8" claimed the seat was only about one position too forward for her taste.

on the bright side, since you already know that you will need a new seat in a few months (or as soon as your DD is strong enough to control her head/neck), you can switch to a convertible carseat (one which can be used forward or rearfacing). we found that the britax convertibles and the new recaro convertibles take up a lot less front to back space when rearfacing than the snugride. we have a recaro signo convertilble and i have the driver's seat at about one position forward of where i would have it if we didn't have a carseat behind it :). that's good enough for me. DW even moves the seat slightly more forward when she drives.

N

newdad2007