OH MY! Is it possible that my seat belt was installed INCORRECTLY by Toyota?!

Mags462

Okay i will keep this short - just wondering if i am crazy, because i noticed for the first time today that:

When the belt in the 3rd row outboard passenger side is pulled flat from its source (eg the side of the van and below the seat on the side) without twisting (like it should be) - pictured here:
DSC01400.jpg

DSC01399.jpg

This is the position of the "tongue" part of my belt!!!! :mad::mad:
DSC01395.jpg

DSC01397.jpg

In order to buckle the seat belt, you have to twist the "tongue" part out, which looks like this:
DSC01394.jpg

DSC01393.jpg

I have never installed a car seat using the seat belt in that position nor has any adult ever ridden back there - so this is my first time trying to actually USE the belt.... and i am completely like - what gives???!!!

Am i crazy? Is that wrong? The other outboard position is NOT like that. No twisting is involved to get the "tongue" to be on the correct side of the belt to buckle.

Can this be fixed at the dealer???? It's a 2005 Sienna XLE if that matters at all....

*****Oh and also note - i was simply trying belt fit on my almost 5 yr old in the TB - he doesn't ride in it while the car is moving :thumbsup: And yes, i know the belt goes UNDER the armrest while in use, but i wanted to show pics that illustrated my problem, not proper use ;)

ADS

HONEYhas3

CPST Instructor
Are you the 1st owner??

if you make a slight fold in the belt, and pull the latch plate over it, you should be able to turn it the right way.

geekKT

I might be missing something, but can you just twist the buckle back to the right way on the belt, by folding the belt in half a little and sliding it through?

Seems to me I've had belts do that to me occasionally over time and I just work them back to the right way again.

flutie128